Question about championships

Use this forum to report bugs or ask for help

Moderator: kilo

Question about championships

Postby Radoye1 » Sat Nov 08, 2014 4:37 am

Is it possible to have race distances in a championship set up with different values for each individual race or there is just the one default setting that would apply to all races?
Radoye1
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:43 pm

Re: Question about championships

Postby Haruna » Sun Nov 09, 2014 1:12 pm

Not possible to have different values for each race, sorry. I'd personally like that feature myself.
Haruna
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: Question about championships

Postby Radoye1 » Sun Nov 09, 2014 2:51 pm

OK understood, thanks! :)

Too bad, maybe this is something that could be coded for the next release? If there is a "distance" value specified in the "tracks" section for a track use this, otherwise use the default value specified in the "race" section.

This way it would preserve backwards compatibility with the current file formats, and would allow us to have championships that more truly represent the real deal (i.e. an MP1 Championship with a shorter "Monaco" race, or an MPA1 Championship with the Milky Five going for its full 200 lap / 500 mile distance with the rest of the races the usual ~200 mile).
Radoye1
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:43 pm

Re: Question about championships

Postby whitecrow4 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:47 pm

To get best performance from "Kabini" APU requires lastest kernel (drm-next branch), Mesa git-master, and Radeon DDX git-master. Of course, you get all the bleeding edge bugs too. :) Some of these may be available as PPAs or whatever they are called. It sounds like you have the latest DDX but it doesn't do the 3D graphics so it won't change performance by itself. Another option is the AMD Catalyst closed source blob. This will give best performance but brings different problems. Pick your poison.

Did you install 2.1 over an existing 2.0 installation? I don't know if this is supported. From which package did you install? It may be a packaging bug.

Which cars have the low fuel problem? Start fuel is hard coded in the XML files so 1.7l is a strange number. An easy work around is to add the fuel to $HOME/.speed-dreams-2/drivers/human/car.xml, or in $HOME/.speed-dreams-2/drivers/human/cars/<car>/default.xml (which you have create).
Are you interested in ccna study guide itil? Get our self paced ccna video - pass-4sure ccna and passguideitil study packages to pass your without any difficulty in security+ certification lsat.
whitecrow4
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:42 pm

Re: Question about championships

Postby Chazlington92 » Tue Mar 03, 2015 4:41 pm

Just to look back on your original question, here's what I do for Championships - it may accomodate you if you want to make the lengths different per round.

I create an Excel Spreadsheet, and put in there a "Driver's Championship" table with their name, car, wins and points, then have two tables further down, per race.

The first table will show qualifying results, (position, name and car - time too if you want). I just start a single event using the cars and track you wish to, and screenshot the resulting qualifying session from Speed Dreams, and fill it out in Excel.

Then obviously in the second table you have the race results. Run a "quick race" with the distance set to what you want, organising the cars into the right order on the grid, and at the end of the race, fill out the table appropriately, handing out championship points in your set format. I tend to do 20, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1.

Finally you fill in the championship standings table, and sort by Points then Wins and bam. You have a very easy to monitor championship, that you can do whatever you want with.
Chazlington92
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 11:47 am

Re: Question about championships

Postby Leopjing » Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:36 am

You dont have to make a screenshot, theres a .xml file with the race results, when you open it, it has a great overview.
Leopjing
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:59 pm
Location: Germany


Return to Problems, Fixes & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron