reload xml setup car file without restart SD2

Use this forum to report bugs or ask for help

Moderator: kilo

reload xml setup car file without restart SD2

Postby nonobecane » Sat Feb 07, 2015 12:07 pm

Hi,

When I make and test a new car I must restart the game everytime i change a parameter in xml file of my car.
Do you know if there is a way to reload the new xml file after a change without fully restart the game ?

I use SD 2.2r5899 on debian sid 64

Thanks for your answer
Image SD2 svn / Debian Sid 64 / 1920x1080 on GTX580 / Logitech G25
nonobecane
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 10:20 am
Location: France

Re: reload xml setup car file without restart SD2

Postby tlow » Sun Feb 08, 2015 3:41 am

Keep your personal setup files in $HOME/.speed-dreams-2/drivers/human/cars/<model>/, if you are not doing that already. SD loads setups when the race starts. Just exit race mode and start the race again. It is not necessary to restart the game.
User avatar
tlow
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:50 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: reload xml setup car file without restart SD2

Postby nonobecane » Sun Feb 08, 2015 9:07 am

Thank you tlow,

I think i don't really undestand

I try with :
/home/arno/.speed-dreams-2/drivers/human/cars/models/arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600/arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600.xml
or
/home/arno/.speed-dreams-2/drivers/human/cars/models/arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600.xml
or
/home/arno/.speed-dreams-2/drivers/human/cars/arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600.xml

but it's don't work
Fo the test I change the ride heigt in the arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600.xml of 200 to 300mm and but there is no change even after restart SD2

Thank's for your answer
Image SD2 svn / Debian Sid 64 / 1920x1080 on GTX580 / Logitech G25
nonobecane
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 10:20 am
Location: France

Re: reload xml setup car file without restart SD2

Postby tlow » Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:59 pm

That's not an included car, so I can only guess that the category or main model XML files do not allow ride height to be changed. If you look at the XML files for the included cars, only items with min/max values can be changed in a local setup file.
User avatar
tlow
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:50 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: reload xml setup car file without restart SD2

Postby Haruna » Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:57 pm

tlow wrote:That's not an included car, so I can only guess that the category or main model XML files do not allow ride height to be changed. If you look at the XML files for the included cars, only items with min/max values can be changed in a local setup file.


Yes, unless the development team broke support for setup changes without restarting, some car classes only allow a limited range or even no range of setup changes.
Haruna
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: reload xml setup car file without restart SD2

Postby tlow » Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:45 am

nonobecane wrote:/home/arno/.speed-dreams-2/drivers/human/cars/models/arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600/arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600.xml
or
/home/arno/.speed-dreams-2/drivers/human/cars/models/arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600.xml
or
/home/arno/.speed-dreams-2/drivers/human/cars/arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600.xml


Sorry, I was in a hurry the last time and didn't notice your paths are incorrect.

/home/arno/.speed-dreams-2/drivers/human/cars/arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600/default.xml

You can have per track setups as well:

/home/arno/.speed-dreams-2/drivers/human/cars/arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600/espie.xml

The various files are loaded and merged in this order: model, category, default, track, so your arno-fmc-convoy-RS1600 still needs a model file.
User avatar
tlow
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:50 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: reload xml setup car file without restart SD2

Postby nonobecane » Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:56 pm

Yes!!!
It's works

Thanks Tlow and Haruna
Image SD2 svn / Debian Sid 64 / 1920x1080 on GTX580 / Logitech G25
nonobecane
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 10:20 am
Location: France


Return to Problems, Fixes & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron