Moving source code to GIT?

Use this forum to report bugs or ask for help

Moderator: kilo

Moving source code to GIT?

Postby Leopjing » Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:11 pm

Related to: https://sourceforge.net/p/speed-dreams/tickets/757/

Is there still the plan to move to git or move the source code to github/ bitbucket?

This would be really nice.


Greetings
Leopjing
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Moving source code to GIT?

Postby madbad » Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:52 pm

Hi Leo,
I'm a sustainer of the move to git/github too (even just for the added visibility to other devs).
Unfurtunately the majority of the core dev still want to keep svn/sourceforce for various reasons (github bad relationship :roll: with binary data, mostly images in our case, being one of the big ones).

So for what I know the move to github is not being cosidered for the moment.

Cheers
User avatar
madbad
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 3:45 pm

Re: Moving source code to GIT?

Postby Leopjing » Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:14 pm

Hm sad.

Can i open a repo on github just for testing and looking for problems and show the possibility?

Maybe then more want to move.
Leopjing
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Moving source code to GIT?

Postby madbad » Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:53 pm

Leopjing wrote:Hm sad.

Can i open a repo on github just for testing and looking for problems and show the possibility?

Maybe then more want to move.


Yes, obviously you can (the code is GPL so you can do with it whatever you want).
But, please, make it clear that it is not the official Speed Dreams repo.

Cheers, Mabad
User avatar
madbad
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 3:45 pm

Re: Moving source code to GIT?

Postby Leopjing » Wed Sep 28, 2016 9:27 am

hey guys its done!

https://github.com/non-official-SD

What did i changed?

  • Rename the track folder development to test_tracks.
  • Rename lancer09 to Raidt1-lancer09
  • Rename gtc-aichi-aidoru to ls1-aichi-aidoru
  • Add car folders for every category and put there every car.
  • Change CMakeLists.txt for the new folders. But we need to check if its working ^^

Repository structure

  • base (Contains the source and the other submodules)
  • doc (Documentation)
  • packaging (the packaging)
  • every car model categories (every car model has it own repository in data/cars)
  • every track categories (every track category has it own repository in data/tracks)
  • ....

Its easy now to edit some car models or tracks without downloading the whole SD data.


Some GIT things for ppl who dont know much about it.
GIT using

If you want to download the whole data use:
git clone https://github.com/non-official-SD/base.git --recursive

If you want to download just a submodule use: (e.g. circuit)
git clone https://github.com/non-official-SD/circuit.git

If you update an submodule you need to update the parent obejct too, because it links only to a given commit.

Further things

You can use for the base repository two branches a master (stable) and a devel (development) branches.

The submodules does not need to have twice, because you can update them but for the master or devel just change the link to the specific commit.


Other things

The Nascar has no cmake for the cars...


PS.
If you are interest for a official i can initialize everything and give then the admin rights to the ppl who are the admins ^^
Leopjing
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Moving source code to GIT?

Postby Leopjing » Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:02 pm

Every change in the SVN i will push to Git too.
Leopjing
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Moving source code to GIT?

Postby Leopjing » Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:37 am

Just have in mind. If you want to go to an git provider. The SVN revisions wont be lost they will appear as an commit. (If all devs have an git provider account it can be connected to them too). Moving the tickets to an git is possible too. (But comments will all be in the first git comment).
Leopjing
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Moving source code to GIT?

Postby MiniJoe » Tue Nov 08, 2016 12:08 am

Rename the track folder development to test_tracks.


If you rename a track folder, you will need to change the "category" entry in each track's xml file to match the folder name.
If you don't, Speed-Dreams will crash on track loading.
MiniJoe
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:32 am


Return to Problems, Fixes & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron