How to convert Torcs tracks into SD Tracks

Discuss or share your track-related work here

Moderator: kilo

How to convert Torcs tracks into SD Tracks

Postby sebastian » Mon May 28, 2012 11:41 am

Hi all,

Could someone write something like a tutorial how to convert old tracks from torcs to SD Tracks? I have this fantastic old "Buzzard-Raceway" on my PC but I’m unable to use it since it’s still in old Torcs standards.

I think you only have to change some things in the xml, but which ones?

cheers,
sebastian
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
sebastian
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 12:03 pm

Re: How to convert Torcs tracks into SD Tracks

Postby WingCommander » Mon May 28, 2012 3:28 pm

My experience has shown that the only thing you need to change is the .xml file for the track.

Find the header section i.e.:
[code]<section name="Header">
<attstr name="name" val="Corkscrew" />
<attstr name="category" val="road" />
<attnum name="version" val="4" />
<attstr name="author" val="kilo" />
<attstr name="description" val="A track near Monterey, CA" />
</section>[code]

Make sure the "catagory" matches a catagory used in SD. I usually use "road" because it is used in both Torcs and SD.

Have fun!
User avatar
WingCommander
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:37 pm
Location: CT, USA

Re: How to convert Torcs tracks into SD Tracks

Postby kilo » Tue May 29, 2012 8:11 pm

Well, you'll also need a 'local info' section in your XML header:

Code: Select all
  <section name="Header">
    <attstr name="name" val="Long Pond Superspeedway" />
    <attstr name="category" val="speedway" />
    <attnum name="version" val="4" />
    <attnum name="sky version" val="1" />
    <attstr name="author" val="kilo" />
    <attstr name="description" val="Tricky triangle superspeedway" />
  </section>

  <section name="Local Info">
    <attnum name="overall rain likelyhood" unit="%" val="40" />
    <attnum name="little rain likelyhood" unit="%" val="30" />
    <attnum name="medium rain likelyhood" unit="%" val="40" />
    <attnum name="time of day" unit="hour" val="14.5" />
    <attnum name="sun ascension" unit="deg" val="0" />
  </section>


So you can see that "sky version" is in the "Header" section. Then make sure the track category matches one of the SD track categories. And then you need to define the local information. With the help of Sun ascension you can set the geographic location of the track, so the stellar bodies will move matching to that. I use http://www.satellite-calculations.com/Satellite/suncalc.htm to look it up.

NB: if the track uses custom surfaces, you'll have to look at the friction settings, too - in SD we've changed them heavily from the one used in Torcs. Just refer to http://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/speed-dreams/browser/trunk/data/data/tracks/surfaces.xml for examples.
kilo
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:02 pm
Location: Szeged, Hungary

Re: How to convert Torcs tracks into SD Tracks

Postby WingCommander » Wed May 30, 2012 5:40 pm

Hmmm...

I guess I should go over the tracks that I have posted. :mrgreen:

Thanks Kilo
User avatar
WingCommander
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:37 pm
Location: CT, USA

Re: How to convert Torcs tracks into SD Tracks

Postby kilo » Wed May 30, 2012 9:27 pm

kilo
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:02 pm
Location: Szeged, Hungary


Return to SD Tracks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron