Can't Make Tracks

Discuss or share your track-related work here

Moderator: kilo

Re: Can't Make Tracks

Postby Cobb » Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:01 pm

Thanks Chad.
Will get looking at them and see if they help get it running.
Cobb
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:41 am

Re: Can't Make Tracks

Postby chad3006 » Sun Jun 08, 2014 1:20 am

I've been playing with making a track too, so far I haven't managed to find the proper combination of syntax, and other junk to make trackgen spit out anything, so if you figure out something, Cobb, post it here and I'll do the same. Maybe between the two of us we can figure something out.
User avatar
chad3006
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:56 pm
Location: USA

Re: Can't Make Tracks

Postby MiniJoe » Sun Jun 08, 2014 4:53 am

If you are on Windows Vista or newer, you may want to make the 'tracks' folder writable. Trackgen needs to create the .ac and other files. The path to the tracks is different for Speed-Dreams 2.0 or greater. If you are creating a new track with the Torcs track editor, you will probably find it easier to copy the xml file to the speed-dreams tracks folder and then run trackgen. What OS and what version(s) of the tools are you using?
MiniJoe
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:32 am

Re: Can't Make Tracks

Postby Cobb » Mon Jun 09, 2014 7:53 am

chad3006 wrote:I've been playing with making a track too, so far I haven't managed to find the proper combination of syntax, and other junk to make trackgen spit out anything, so if you figure out something, Cobb, post it here and I'll do the same. Maybe between the two of us we can figure something out.

No worries Chad will let you know when I got stuff. Im not on the right computer but when I can i will edit this post a bit if need be.
I followed the Vincente Centelles 'Build your own Torcs track in 20 minutes' tutorial to get the .ac file made. The syntax i used was SD2-trackgen -c circuit -n Stenhill Short -E 0 [Stenhill Short being the name of my track and circuit the category]
the trackgen file and its .dll appear to only find the correct lib files when its in the main speed dreams folder [not the bin folder it is in by default]
The result of this are 3 .ac files, the main Stenhill Short.ac file, a Stenhill Short-trk.ac and a Stenhill Short-msh.ac
After that i started to do the table edits suggested in your links and i know it made a difference as when i go into the circuit category it crashes the game [previously it didnt register that the xml existed and the track wasnt there.
Not sure what it did though but once im done with uni exams ill will get back to looking at what has gone wrong.

MiniJoe wrote:If you are on Windows Vista or newer, you may want to make the 'tracks' folder writable. Trackgen needs to create the .ac and other files. The path to the tracks is different for Speed-Dreams 2.0 or greater. If you are creating a new track with the Torcs track editor, you will probably find it easier to copy the xml file to the speed-dreams tracks folder and then run trackgen. What OS and what version(s) of the tools are you using?

Sorry but what do you mean by making it writable?
I use my windows XP laptop for the trackeditor 0.6.2 and my win7 64-bit PC for sd2-trackgen and use command prompt. Java versions I have are Java7 and Java6

Apologies for the long post, I'm trying to get as much information out as I can. Hope it makes sense too :D
Hope this all helps guys
Cobb
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:41 am

Re: Can't Make Tracks

Postby chad3006 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:14 pm

I think what he means by writable is that your user ID has permissions to read and write to that folder or file. After playing around this weekend I got trackgen to work in Linux after chown-ing and chmod-ing (giving my user ID permissions to use certain folders and files.) Same is true for WInvista and above. I thought about it this weekend and thought that might be the problem you were having with your Win7 systems and why XP worked OK.

Also Joe is working on a new track editor that'll include elevations. I'm looking forward to it.
User avatar
chad3006
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:56 pm
Location: USA

Re: Can't Make Tracks

Postby Cobb » Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:30 pm

Thats interesting, I've never had any issues with user id permissions but ill look into that. Just to be clear trackgen works fine on Win7, it just the trackeditor that wont work on it.
I've been wondering about that new editor I read about when first investigating this game. Hope its good. Will it require manually editing the .xml as we currently have to.
Im at a bit of a loss as to why my .xml is crashing speed dreams on selection of the circuit category and its a shame those tutorials on creating tracks for speed dreams kinda end abruptly.

Edit: what permissions would i have to change, the main issue with starting the trackeditor is that comes up saying Java OS is not recognised. Is it possible I need an older version of Java.
Cobb
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:41 am

Re: Can't Make Tracks

Postby chad3006 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:43 pm

I forgot you were having trouble with track editor instead of trackgen. I'm still not sure about the java issue.

What I did was turn UAC off (http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... =windows-7) but be aware of the risks. The particular computer I've done it to doesn't get on the net very often.
Last edited by chad3006 on Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
chad3006
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:56 pm
Location: USA

Re: Can't Make Tracks

Postby Cobb » Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:47 pm

Haha no worries. At least I have a temporary solution though.
Let us know how you do getting your track in game? I imagine I missed something in editing the .xml
Cobb
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:41 am

Re: Can't Make Tracks

Postby chad3006 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:54 pm

When using track editor I set all the output folder to whatever the track's name is. For example if it's a road track and the name is gv, I set the path to (I'm doing this from memory, so be aware of any differences) speed dreams-2 /data/tacks/road/. Track editor will create a folder called "gv" in that path. Then trackgen will find it and put the .ac files in that folder automatically, then I just start speed dreams and there it is -- a very basic track, but drivable and textured anyway.

The documentation that is in the doc folder of track editor helps too.
User avatar
chad3006
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:56 pm
Location: USA

Re: Can't Make Tracks

Postby Cobb » Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:58 pm

So you didnt have to modify anything in the .xml and it showed up?
I may need to redo the track just to get it running in basic before fiddling then.
Thanks anyway
Cobb
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:41 am

PreviousNext

Return to SD Tracks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest