Creating Tracks for Speed Dreams

Discuss or share your track-related work here

Moderator: kilo

Creating Tracks for Speed Dreams

Postby Tom_D3 » Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:58 pm

Hello all,
Sorry if this has been asked before, I just need some clarification.

How do I easily create a track for speed dreams 2.1. I have trackeditor and trackgen installed but I can only make the .prj.xml and .xml file, and I'm not sure how to use trackgen. How do I create the 3D file and get it to run in Speed Dreams??

Thanks :D
Tom_D3
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:03 pm
Location: UK

Re: Creating Tracks for Speed Dreams

Postby chad3006 » Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:25 pm

This thread describes some of the procedures: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=626

basically the syntax from a terminal is: sd2-trackgen -c category -n name with category being something like “road” or “dirt” and name being the actual name you gave the track.

Now, trackgen will assume that the file(s) are located within the proper track category in the SD directory. So if you have a road track called gv, then you should have a folder within the “road” category called “gv” with the track's .xml located within. You will also need read/write permissions to that folder depending on your OS.
User avatar
chad3006
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:56 pm
Location: USA

Re: Creating Tracks for Speed Dreams

Postby Cobb » Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:40 pm

Chad3006 posted these for me, they helped. There is other handy stuff in them about track creation in there as well.

http://commut3r.wordpress.com/2009/10/0 ... ake-a-list
http://commut3r.wordpress.com/2009/10/
http://commut3r.wordpress.com/category/tutorials
http://commut3r.wordpress.com/2009/09

To open Trackgen you need to go through command prompt and find the directory that trackgen is in. If your generating a road track named New_Track. You will input the following line.
sd2-trackgen -c road -n New_Track -E 0
From there it will create an .ac file which is require to use the track.
Hope this helps.

Edit: Chad3006 beat me!
Cobb
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:41 am

Re: Creating Tracks for Speed Dreams

Postby MiniJoe » Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:01 am

If you are on Windows, you will want to run sd2-trackgen from a command prompt.
For a typical install...
Code: Select all
cd C:\Program Files (x86)\speed-dreams-2.1.0
.\bin\sd2-trackgen.exe -c category -n trackname

Please note that you have to run sd2-trackgen.exe from the "C:\Program Files (x86)\speed-dreams-2.1.0" folder, if you run it from the "C:\Program Files (x86)\speed-dreams-2.1.0\bin" folder, it won't find the dlls that it needs.
Also, on Vista and newer, you will have to have write permission on your track folder.
Typically:
C:\Program Files (x86)\speed-dreams-2.2.0\data\tracks\circuit\YOURTRACKNAME (Replace 'circuit' with dirt or road or speedway)
MiniJoe
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:32 am

Re: Creating Tracks for Speed Dreams

Postby Tom_D3 » Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:12 pm

Hello,

I may have missed something, but I got an error message.
Code: Select all
:~$ cd /home/tom/Desktop/speed-dreams-2.1/trackgen
:~/Desktop/speed-dreams-2.1/trackgen$ trackgen -n test2 -c dirt
Changing to /usr/share/games/torcs
++++++++++++ Track ++++++++++++
name      = test2
author    = tom
filename  = tracks/dirt/test2/test2.xml
nseg      = 210
version   = 4
length    = 828.316895
width     = 10.000000
pits      = 0
XSize     = 319.000031
YSize     = 219.001221
ZSize     = 0.000000
Delta X   = 0.000595
Delta Y   = -0.001282
Delta Z   = 0.000000
Delta Ang = -0.000009 (-0.000536)
=== Indices Array Size   = 16400
=== Vertex Array Size    = 49200
=== Tex Coord Array Size = 32800
=== Indices really used = 5026
/usr/games/trackgen: line 34:  4573 Segmentation fault      $LIBDIR/trackgen-bin -L $LIBDIR $*
Tom_D3
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:03 pm
Location: UK

Re: Creating Tracks for Speed Dreams

Postby Cobb » Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:39 pm

Do you have the trackgen.exe in the speed-dreams-2.1 folder?
It appears as if you have it in its own folder named trackgen,
Cobb
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:41 am

Re: Creating Tracks for Speed Dreams

Postby Whiterose1 » Fri Jan 09, 2015 6:11 am

Bristol works excelente at Torcs 1.3.6, but Whip crashes instantly at load.

EDIT

I put Whip in the right category (dirt) and it goes very well ;-)
Whiterose1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 5:53 am


Return to SD Tracks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron