Page 1 of 1

How enable capture ?

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:55 am
by nonobecane
Hi,
I don't understand how to enable capture.
In /usr/local/share/games/speed-dreams-2/config/raceengine.xml
I modify no to yes :
<section name="Movie Capture">
<attstr name="enable capture" in="yes,no" val="yes"/>
<attnum name="fps" val="25"/>
<attstr name="output directory" val="captures"/>
</section>

The capture folder exist : ~/.speed-dreams-2/captures

But when i press "c" during a game, the folder captures stay empty

I try to modify [..]/speed-dreams-svn/data/config/raceengine.xml before build and compil but no change

An external apps is necessary ?
On my PC FFmpeg is installed and screencast work

Thanks for your answers

Re: How enable capture ?

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 2:18 pm
by tlow
The correct file is $HOME/.speed-dreams-2/config/raceengine.xml.

Re: How enable capture ?

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:53 pm
by nonobecane
Thanks tlow,

It's right, I forget to post than my file ~/.speed-dreams-2/config/raceengine.xml contains to :
<section name="Movie Capture">
<attstr name="enable capture" in="yes,no" val="yes"/>
<attnum name="fps" val="25"/>
<attstr name="output directory" val="captures"/>
</section>

But it's don't work

Re: How enable capture ?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:01 am
by tlow
Do you have multithreading enabled? That would block your capture setting.

Re: How enable capture ?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:59 pm
by nonobecane
Yes, I disable multithreading and it's work.

It's don't record a video but a lot of pictures. It's the normal working ?

Re: How enable capture ?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:28 pm
by simon-2
yes, this is usual. infamous "20 minutes torcs track" tutorial recommends to use VirtualDubMod to create a video from these.

Re: How enable capture ?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:50 pm
by nonobecane
Thanks for your answer simon-2